Panama to be added to EU money-laundering blacklist

Panama, the Bahamas, and Mauritius are to be added to an EU blacklist of countries that “pose significant threats to the financial system of the European Union” on money-laundering grounds due to lax legislation at home, Reuters reports, citing a draft EU document.

Barbados, Botswana, Cambodia, Ghana, Jamaica, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nicaragua and Zimbabwe are also on the list, meaning EU banks must do enhanced due diligence on transactions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top